Cargo bike and Long Tail

Buying an electric cargo bike has many advantages! The main one is that it allows you to transport heavy things and/or people thanks to its front or rear loading space, while offering you pedal assistance. Not to be underestimated when you are fully loaded! However, buying an electric cargo bike has a cost, so here are some tips on how to choose the right model. 

Cargo bike and Long Tail

Christiania Bikes Classic Short
-26%
Christiania Bikes Classic Short
2021 1,60-1,90m 14km

€2.649,00 €3.599,00

Kiffy Explorer Perf Line
-20%
Kiffy Explorer Perf Line
2021 1,65-1,90m 6km

€3.199,00 €3.999,00

Babboe Centaur Cargo
-21%
Babboe Centaur Cargo
2021 1,65-1,85m 136km

€3.299,00 €4.190,00

Babboe Centaur Cargo
-21%
Babboe Centaur Cargo
2021 1,60-1,85m 270km

€3.299,00 €4.190,00

Winora F.U.B. 2W
-23%
Winora F.U.B. 2W
2021 1,65-1,90m 864km

€3.849,00 €4.999,00

O2feel Equo Cargo Power 7.1
-26%
O2feel Equo Cargo Power 7.1
2021 1,60-1,90m < 5km

€3.899,00 €5.299,00

Twelve G4 Traveller Cycles
-20%
Twelve G4 Traveller Cycles
2021 1,65-1,85m 1802km

€4.149,00 €5.190,00

Twelve G4 Traveller Cycles
-19%
Twelve G4 Traveller Cycles
2021 1,65-1,85m 1422km

€4.199,00 €5.190,00

Twelve G4 Traveller Cycles
-15%
Twelve G4 Traveller Cycles
2021 1,65-1,85m 393km

€4.399,00 €5.190,00

Tern GSD S10 LX
-15%
Tern GSD S10 LX
2021 1,50-1,95m 8km

€5.099,00 €5.999,00

Your dream bike is not in stock?

New bikes are put on sale every day. Stay informed of new arrivals!

The different electric cargo bikes

There are different types of electric cargo bikes, to suit all types of use. Cargo bikes are particularly well suited to electric bikes. They offer you considerable assistance in moving around on this heavy vehicle (between 30 and 55 kg), to which you can add loads of up to 200 kg on certain models!

Two-wheelers have two wheels and a loading area between the steering column and the front wheel. Three-wheelers are the most common electric cargo bikes: they have three wheels, which are positioned differently depending on the brand. Models with two wheels at the front offer more comfort and stability and are ideal for carrying passengers. Models with two wheels at the rear are more suitable for transporting goods. 

There are also the longtails, which have no cargo box, but only a reinforced luggage rack at the rear that can accommodate a secure seat. It offers plenty of space, which is handy for taking up to 3 children or bulky luggage with you. Finally, there are also compact electric cargo bikes, which are no longer than 170 cm. These models have two loading areas: front and rear. They allow you to transport children as well as goods, and to get through traffic easily, but also to find a parking space more easily. 

How to choose your electric cargo bike

The choice of your electric cargo bike will depend on what you intend to carry with you, but also on the nature of your daily routes. If you're wondering which electric cargo bike to choose to transport your children and you're riding in the city, we recommend a two-wheeler with a front bucket. It has the It has the advantage of being narrow and therefore easy to handle, especially for getting through traffic or climbing a kerb. If you want to transport up to 4 children or have groceries next to your 2 children, opt for a three-wheeler instead, which offers a larger load capacity.

Although the purchase of a cargo bike represents a certain cost, there are cheap electric cargo bikes, such as the Velocargo Longtail R500 from Decathlon. Upway also offers used electric cargo bikes that have been reconditioned by us. Thanks to the work of our professional mechanics, you can buy a cheap electric cargo bike at prices 20 to 60% lower than new. 




See more

Les différents vélos cargos électriques

Il existe différentes sortes de vélos cargo électriques, pour répondre à tous types d’usages. Les vélos cargos sont en effet particulièrement adaptés à l’électrique. Ils vous offrent ainsi une assistance non négligeable pour vous déplacer à bord de ce véhicule lourd (entre 30 et 55 kg), auquel vous ajouterez des charges pouvant aller jusqu’à 200 kg sur certains modèles !

Les biporteurs sont dotés de deux roues et d’une zone de chargement située entre la colonne de direction et la roue avant. Les triporteurs sont quant à eux les vélos cargos électriques les plus courants : ils sont équipés de trois roues, placées différemment selon les marques. Les modèles avec deux roues à l’avant offrent davantage de confort et de stabilité, ils sont idéaux pour transporter des passagers. Les modèles avec deux roues à l’arrière sont plutôt destinés au transport de marchandises. 

Il existe également les longtails, qui n’ont pas de caisse de chargement, mais uniquement un porte-bagage renforcé, placé à l’arrière et capable d’accueillir une assise sécurisée. Il offre un grand espace, pratique pour emmener avec vous jusqu’à 3 enfants ou des bagages volumineux. Enfin, vous trouverez également des vélos cargo électriques compacts, dont la longueur ne dépasse pas 170 cm. Ces modèles disposent de deux zones de chargement : à l’avant et à l’arrière. Ils permettent de transporter des enfants comme des marchandises, et de vous faufiler facilement dans la circulation, mais aussi de trouver plus aisément une place de stationnement. 

Bien choisir votre vélo cargo électrique

Le choix de votre vélo cargo électrique se fera selon ce que vous comptez transporter avec vous, mais également selon la nature de vos parcours quotidiens. Si vous vous demandez quel vélo cargo électrique choisir pour transporter vos enfants et que vous évoluez en ville, nous vous conseillons un biporteur avec benne à l’avant. Il a l’avantage d’être étroit et donc facile à manier, notamment pour se glisser dans la circulation ou pour monter sur un trottoir. Si vous souhaitez transporter jusqu’à 4 enfants ou bien disposer à côté de vos 2 enfants des courses, optez plutôt pour un triporteur, qui offre une capacité de chargement plus importante.

Si l’achat d’un VAE cargo représente un certain coût, il existe cependant des vélos cargo électriques pas chers, comme par exemple le Velocargo Longtail chargement arrière R500 de Decathlon. Upway vous propose également des vélos cargo électriques d’occasion et reconditionnés par nos soins. Grâce au travail de nos mécaniciens professionnels, achetez un VAE cargo pas cher avec des prix 20 à 60% moins élevés que le neuf. 




Voir plus